from [livejournal.com profile] devils_devotion

A lot has been said about how to prevent rape.
Women should learn self-defense. Women should lock themselves in their houses after dark. Women shouldn't have long hair and women shouldn't wear short skirts. Women shouldn't leave drinks unattended. Fuck, they shouldn't dare to get drunk at all.


instead of that bullshit, how about:

if a woman is drunk, don't rape her.
if a woman is walking alone at night, don't rape her.
if a women is drugged and unconscious, don't rape her.
if a woman is wearing a short skirt, don't rape her.
if a woman is jogging in a park at 5 am, don't rape her.
if a woman looks like your ex-girlfriend you're still hung up on, don't rape her.
if a woman is asleep in her bed, don't rape her.
if a woman is asleep in your bed, don't rape her.
if a woman is doing her laundry, don't rape her.
if a woman is in a coma, don't rape her.
if a woman changes her mind in the middle of or about a particular activity, don't rape her.
if a woman has repeatedly refused a certain activity, don't rape her.

if a woman is not yet a woman, but a child, don't rape her.
if your girlfriend or wife is not in the mood, don't rape her.
if your step-daughter is watching tv, don't rape her.
if you break into a house and find a woman there, don't rape her.
if your friend thinks it's okay to rape someone, tell him it's not, and that he's not your friend.

if your "friend" tells you he raped someone, report him to the police.
if your frat-brother or another guy at the party tells you there's an unconscious woman upstairs and it's your turn, don't rape her, call the police and tell the guy he's a rapist.

tell your sons, god-sons, nephews, grandsons, sons of friends it's not okay to rape someone.

don't tell your women friends how to be safe and avoid rape.
don't imply that she could have avoided it if she'd only done/not done x.
don't imply that it's in any way her fault.
don't let silence imply agreement when someone tells you he "got some" with the drunk girl.
don't perpetuate a culture that tells you that you have no control over or responsibility for your actions. You can, too, help yourself.



If you agree, repost it. It's that important.

From: [identity profile] acdragonmaster.livejournal.com


I'd say it goes both ways, frankly. The male population could do to exert more self-control, and the female population could do to avoid things that they know will attract attention if they don't want it. You can't convince me that some of the outfits I see people wearing are by any means truly more comfortable to wear than something less revealing; simply put, people frequently wear such things because it's "fashion" or somesuch that ultimately comes down to a way of saying "look at me! acknowledge me!" However, broadcasting that sort of message, well, it will get you attention, but not always the right sort. It's like the complaints I've heard from other female DDR players about guys staring at their chest when they play. Well, frankly, if you know you're going to go out to the arcade to play the game, then you can easily toss on a loose t-shirt that won't really show anything and avoid the problem entirely.

I don't think any one side is solely to blame. Both have steps they can take to reach a mutual understanding.

From: [identity profile] sparklemagpie.livejournal.com


Just because I go out on the town dressed in a revealing way doesn't give ANYONE, male, female, young, old, drunk, drugged or sober the right to violate my person, sexually or otherwise!

If someone shot me in the back of the head for wearing a certain t-shirt or expressing a certain opinion or walking around at a certain time of day you'd call that cruel and uncalled for and stupid!

Raping a person because they dress or act a certain way is JUST as bad!

There is no way to equate a violent act like a rape to a situation like getting your chest stared at when you play DDR.

Know what also works for not getting stared at when you play a game like that? Telling the people oggling you that you see where they're looking and you don't appreciate it.

Attention seeking behaviour does not equate to 'I want you to violate me, come get it."

If I flaunt my body and come on to a guy, he has the right to turn me down if he's not interested, which means that I have the right to turn him down right back if he gets TOO interested.

No one should have to be afraid of getting attacked because they act a certain way. Rape is still rape, no matter what precipitated it.

From: [identity profile] acdragonmaster.livejournal.com


My point being, it doesn't help any when people dress in a way that they KNOW is going to attract attention, good and bad. Part of the idea behind "modesty" is to prevent people from being tempted in the first place. Not to mention that it's a generally known idea that the male half the population tends to respond to visual things moreso than the female population. Heck, we've known this for aeons, why else have women in so many cultures through all the ages bothered to paint their faces and wear nice-looking clothing and accessories? Because guys respond to what they see.

My point being, that I don't think it's any more correct to act like it's all the guys' fault any more than to imply it's all the girls'.

From: [identity profile] sparklemagpie.livejournal.com


So if I shot you in the back of the head because you dressed in a way that got my attention, that's somehow partially YOUR fault?

Did you put a gun in my hand? Did you casually mention wanting to be shot? Of course not, because no one asks for such a thing.

I'm not trying to narrow this down to boys and girls here.

If a woman sexually abuses her ten year old nephew to 'teach him a lesson', she's just as guilty as a man who drugs a teenaged girl at a party and has sex with her against her will.

Rape is rape is rape is rape is rape, no matter the circumstance.

Perhaps young girls shouldn't dress like sluts around drunken boys - it's my personal opinion that no one should have to dress like a slut to be noticed. Trust me, I'm the last person on this earth who want to see girls fifteen and younger bareing their tits and asses in the hope of being called hot by a boy to stupid to hold a five minute conversation with her.

But that doesn't make it her fault - even a little bit - when she says no and someone doesn't listen.

You're entited to your point, and I understand what you mean, but I respectfully disagree.

I apologize if I sounded angry at you before, but this is a sensitive topic for me. One of my best friends at work is in the middle of a legal fight to have the four college students who gang raped her fourteen year old daughter put in jail. What that family is going through no one would want, and this young girl who was assaulted never did a thing to encourage these boys but say hello when they smiled at her...
.

Profile

icedark_elf: (Default)
icedark_elf

Tags

Powered by Dreamwidth Studios

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags